Woman of Valor 2017

Susan Epstein is a leader and an integral hands-on participant in the foundation of the Dell Jewish Community Campus and the Women’s Division. In recognition of her leadership and dedication she received the 2012 Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award at the JFNA International Lion of Judah Conference.

Susan is a Plan II graduate from The University of Texas at Austin and she continued on to pursue a medical degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio. After briefly living in Houston, Susan and her husband Bobby returned to Austin to raise their family and quickly became active in the growing Austin Jewish Community. At that time, the Dell campus was under construction and Women’s Division was being re-launched. Susan took the initiative to help shape the local chapter of Lion of Judah. What started as just a handful of women is now over 70 Lion of Judah members and is growing every year. She has also endowed her Lion of Judah gift and encourages others to join her. Susan has taken an active leadership role in all three of our key philanthropic initiatives to advocate and raise funds for annual campaign, our Generations Capital Campaign and to secure our Jewish future through the Jewish Foundation of Austin & Central Texas (JFACT) and currently serves on the JFACT Cabinet.

Susan is receiving the 2017 Woman of Valor Award because she embodies what it means to be a leader, a philanthropist and a friend. Her generosity and desire to give back to her community is demonstrated in her tireless involvement in countless organizations including Dell Children’s Medical Center, Anti-Defamation League Austin, The Long Center for the Performing Arts and more. Susan says that giving to and involvement with the Jewish Federation is a very personal endeavor.


Back to Mosaic Main page

Past Recipients:  

2016 Margo Smith
2015 Judy Waxman
2014 Tracy Solomon
2013 Dana Baruch
2012 Valerie Newberg 
2011 Candy Goldstein & Arlene Maze 
2010 Sherrie Frachtman 
2009 Lecia Sud 
2008 Lily Saad 
2007 Susan Sager 
2006 Barbara Tocker 
2005 Marilyn Stahl
2004 Audrey Maislin
2003 Hana Weinberg
2002 Diane Radin

For questions regarding the Women's Division, contact Amy Hyman or call (512) 735-8078.