Jewish Austin Men | Shalom Austin



Join Jewish Austin Men for delicious dinners, TED-style talks and lively discussions with thought leaders from Austin and beyond.

Jewish Austin Men (JAMen) is dedicated to improving the lives of Jewish men of all ages and backgrounds as fathers, husbands, brothers, sons, friends, Americans and Jews through thought-provoking speakers and small group discussions. JAMen is also a great place to reconnect with old friends or make new ones in our fast-growing Jewish community.


Season 6

Purchase a Single Dinner for May 10, 2023

2022-2023 Speakers

September 14, 2022

Ira Forman

Former Special Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism, U.S. Dept of State

 Are American Jews Destined to Become as Vulnerable as the Jews of Europe? 

October 26, 2022

Chris Beard

 Head Men’s Basketball Coach, The University of Texas at Austin 

 No Fluff with Chris Beard and Texas Basketball 

Generations donors Hurt family

January 25, 2023

Brett Hurt

 Entrepreneur, Investor and Founder of and Bazaarvoice 

The Future of the Tech and Data Industry in Challenging Times 

February 15, 2023 

Bennett Greenspan

 Founder and CEO Emeritus, Family Tree DNA 

The DNA of the Jewish People 

March 22, 2023 

Pano Kanelos

 President, The University of Austin 

Reimagining Higher Education 

May 10, 2023 

Byron Reese

 Author and Futurist 

How Humans Learned to See and Shape the Future 

Some Past Speakers

Rabbi David Wolpe

Prominent Rabbi and Author

Greg Fenves

Former President, University of Texas at Austin

Ray Benson

Musician, Asleep at the Wheel

Mack Brown

Former Head Football Coach, University of Texas at Austin

Thank you to our 2019-20 Sustaining Members

Mike Abkowitz
Ted Altfeld
Arthur Altman
Bob Baer
Irl Barg
Harvey Burg
Bruce Corman
Bruce Elliott
Bob Feiner
Bob Frachtman
Ed Fudman
Mark Goldberg
David Goldstein
Jesse Gordon

Morris Gottesman
Gary Greenblum
Dennis Gross
Mike Grossman
Frank Hoffman
Brett Hurt
AJ Josefowitz
Jeff Josephs
David Kahn
Joel Katz
Phil Klein
Kevin Koeller
Jerrod Kogut
George Kopf

Lenny Krasnow
Sandy Kress
Lawrence Kroman
Burt Kunik, Chair
Daryl Kunik
Max Kunik
Randy Kunik
Joel Kutnick
Dennis Lanning
Jack Lester
Carey Leva
Ron Levin
Paul Lewis
Luis Lidsky

Ed Lilly
Chuck Mandelbaum
Lawrence Maze
Rob Milman
Alan Nirenberg
Mike O’Krent
Joe Oliveri
Rick Otis
Rick Rosenberg
Charles Rosenblum
Jay Rubin, Chair
Alan Sager
David Saidel
Steve Schaffer

Bob Senoff
Rabbi Daniel Septimus
Byron Smith
Mark Smith
Michael Solka
Joel Tendler
Charles Toubin
Jim Vertuno
Ira Winsten
David Wishnew
Gary Zausmer

As of 1/14/20

Alachua Haskins

Alachua Haskins

Learning and Engagement Director